Results

Steven Flores mail: steven.flores@affablyhomonym.com | web: steven.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 17:39:57 +0000
The Curious Rise Of Scientology In Taiwan
Scientology around the world is in broad retreat, but to be in Taiwan you would never know that. Per capita, it’s one of the most Scientology-friendly countries on earth.
Alan Simmons mail: alan.simmons@ventredi.eu | web: alan.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 11:32:13 +0000
Paying With A Credit Card Is Harder Than It Needs To Be And Other Facts
Welcome to What We Learned This Week, a digest of the most curiously important facts from the past few days. This week: chip cards are a pain in the butt, we're all burnt out and the physics of catcher's knees.
Jerry Roberts mail: jerry.roberts@pulpfrictions.com | web: jerry.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 14:10:11 +0000
1,000 Musicians Playing 'Seven Nation Army' At Once Is Just Incredible
Cesena, Italy's Rockin' 1000 has a simple concept: 1000 rock musicians playing the ever-living-heck out of rock classics. It's a very good concept.
Brian Clark mail: brian.clark@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: brian.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 11:32:13 +0000
This Company Just Gave Everyone Access To Clean Energy, For Free
Arcadia Power lets you access clean energy for your home or apartment in all 50 states. It only takes three minutes to set up and is completely free. For those interested in supporting renewable energy, this is a no-brainer.
Henry Patterson mail: henry.patterson@geheime.club | web: henry.geheime.club | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:28:35 +0000
The Unstoppable Power Of A Debris Flow
Debris flows, similar to landslides, sweep up huge amounts of mud, dirt, rock and other debris. They're very dangerous, and incredible to watch from afar.
Ronald Rodriguez mail: ronald.rodriguez@thedarkswans.com | web: ronald.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:57:40 +0000
Federal Appeals Court Overturns 'Discriminatory' North Carolina Voting Laws
In the opinion, the panel of judges said that the law restricted voting in ways that "disproportionately affected African Americans" and that its provisions targeted "African Americans with almost surgical precision." It said the state's defense of the law was "meager."
Joshua Marshall mail: joshua.marshall@horse-d.eu | web: joshua.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 17:39:57 +0000
The 'Doom' Of Your Memories Doesn’t Really Exist
If you played "Doom" during its heyday in the '90s, I have some disappointing news: it’s not as frightening as you remember. But that’s just how memory goes.
Peter Bryant mail: peter.bryant@klarkzon.eu | web: peter.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:28:35 +0000
Bill Clinton Really Loves Balloons
Bill was in heaven last night when the DNC unleashed an ocean's worth of balloons.
Wayne Jordan mail: wayne.jordan@horse-d.eu | web: wayne.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 17:39:57 +0000
Who Buys Legal Weed?
Where weed is legal, store data shows that the stereotypical young, male smoker is no longer the norm.
Peter Cruz mail: peter.cruz@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: peter.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 01:58:31 +0000
Father Of Fallen Muslim Soldier Rebukes Trump: 'You Have Sacrificed Nothing'
Khizr Khan, whose son, Capt. Humayun Khan, was killed in Iraq, delivered a powerful speech at the DNC on Thursday night, culminating in a sharp, angry rebuke of Donald Trump.
Alan White mail: alan.white@daftest.website | web: alan.daftest.website | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:49:44 +0000
Kanye West's 'Wolves' Video Is Very Pretty And Very Much An Ad For Balmain
For an artist as connected to the fashion world as Kanye West is, it perhaps shouldn't be terribly surprising that one of his music videos is really just an extended (and gorgeous, we should add) promotion for French fashion brand Balmain.
Travis Clark mail: travis.clark@horse-d.eu | web: travis.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:18:57 +0000
6 State Employees Criminally Charged In Flint Water Crisis
Charged are Michigan Department of Health and Human Services workers Nancy Peeler, Corinne Miller and Robert Scott, and Michigan Department of Environmental Quality employees Liane Shekter-Smith; Adam Rosenthal and Patrick Cook, according to testimony this morning in Flint’s district court.
Fred Rivera mail: google@klarkzon.eu | web: fred.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:36:20 +0000
Amsterdam Is Building One Of The Tallest Timber Skyscrapers In The World
As 21st-century architects increasingly embrace sustainability as a core practice, the unofficial race for the world’s tallest timber skyscraper is on.
Paul Shaw mail: paul.shaw@thedarkswans.com | web: paul.thedarkswans.com | when: Mon, 25 Jul 2016 18:44:34 +0000
Just The Good (And Bad) Stuff From The Democratic National Convention
After last week's crazy, Trump-tastic Republican Convention, Democrats hoped that this week's Democratic National Convention would be tame in comparison. Luckily for media hungry spectators, it looks like that won't be the case.
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:36:20 +0000
You Should Be Terrified That People Who Like 'Hamilton' Run Our Country
The American elite can’t get enough of a musical that flatters their political sensibilities and avoids discomforting truths.
Chad Thompson mail: chad.thompson@ventredi.eu | web: chad.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:06:29 +0000
Local Transmission Of Zika By Mosquitoes Confirmed In Miami
Zika virus is actively being transmitted by local mosquitoes in a one-square-mile area just north of Downtown Miami, Florida Gov. Rick Scott said Friday morning in confirming that four cases of Zika infection in Miami-Dade and Broward counties were acquired locally.
Antonio Thompson mail: antonio.thompson@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: antonio.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jan 2016 15:17:18 +0000
This Portable Charger Is An Engineering Marvel
Powerful and ultra-fast charging capabilities packed into a charger that's as thick as 5 of your credit cards.
Arthur Martin mail: arthur.martin@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: arthur.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:30:05 +0000
The Olympic Spirit Is Dead
The scrutiny facing Rio epitomizes the changing perception of the Games in the 21st century, where the myth is long gone.
Patrick Patterson mail: patrick.patterson@ventredi.eu | web: patrick.ventredi.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 14:26:00 +0000
Does The Disappearance Of Sea Ice Matter?
In the vast and chaotic climate systems that govern our atmosphere and oceans, making sense of how one change — diminished sea ice — affects places or people thousands of miles away is a task of such extraordinary complexity that it strains even the most sophisticated supercomputers.
Kenneth Dixon mail: kenneth.dixon@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: kenneth.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:15:09 +0000
Will Smith Gives One Of The Best Late Night Show Entrances Ever
Only Will Smith can find a way to involve a choir, a horse and a giant bubble into his "Tonight Show" entrance.
Travis Jordan mail: travis.jordan@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: travis.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 04:04:07 +0000
Hillary Clinton Delivers Strong DNC Speech And Officially Accepts Her Nomination
In the final speech of the Democratic Convention, Hillary Clinton attacked Donald Trump, outlined how she sees American values, and explained why she thinks she's qualified to be president.
Louis Cox mail: louis.cox@thedarkswans.com | web: louis.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 16:36:20 +0000
Can Neutrinos Answer One Of The Biggest Questions In Physics?
An early sign that neutrinos behave differently than antineutrinos suggests an explanation for matter-antimatter asymmetry.
Bruce Carter mail: bruce.carter@geheime.club | web: bruce.geheime.club | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:30:05 +0000
The Chimneypots Of Paris Rooftops
A trivial but iconic architectural element of Europe are the chimneypots that adorn the rooftops of houses and buildings. As these photos testify, it is impossible to look over the rooftops of the sprawling French capital without being accosted by chimneypots.
Steve Butler mail: steve.butler@klarkzon.eu | web: steve.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 19:41:25 +0000
Poor Old Man Makes The Terrible Decision To Combine Two Jars Of Contact Cement
Mr. Magoo, is that you?
Brandon Garcia mail: gmail@affablyhomonym.com | web: brandon.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 14:26:00 +0000
How An Olympic Sprinter Nearly Lost Her Medals Because Of Her Autopsy
The world was shocked when, following her murder in a mugging gone awry, her autopsy revealed that Stella Walsh had ambiguous genitalia. For the woman once regarded as the world's greatest female athlete, questions arose as to the legitimacy of her titles, and her integrity after a lifetime of living and competing as a woman.
Harry White mail: harry.white@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: harry.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 15:30:05 +0000
Hair Is Magical
Even modern, scientifically literate people, who certainly know better, somehow think that hair cuttings provide a link to the spirit of the person from whom the hair was taken.
Allen Lewis mail: gmail@affablyhomonym.com | web: allen.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:29:58 +0000
Aaron Hernandez’s Crime And His Brother's Pain
If anyone can understand how Aaron Hernandez went from NFL stardom to life in prison for murder, it’s his older brother, Jonathan, whose perspective cost him a way of living.
Kenneth Thompson mail: kenneth.thompson@horse-d.eu | web: kenneth.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:29:58 +0000
Sandy Hook School Opening To Public, 4 Years After Massacre
When the public gets its first glimpse Friday of the school built to replace the one where 20 first-graders and six educators were massacred, they'll see a building designed to be attractive, environmentally friendly, conducive to learning, and above all, safe.
Anthony Turner mail: gmail@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: anthony.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 14:26:00 +0000
Noise Is A Drug And New York Is Full Of Addicts
Noise can cause us distress and pain, but it can also help us think, perceive, remember, and be more creative. It turns out that it’s even necessary for our physiological and mental functioning. If it’s a drug, then it’s a performance drug. And New York is full of addicts.
Edward Mcdonald mail: edward.mcdonald@innovation-km.com | web: edward.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:15:09 +0000
Colbert Explains How Clinton Overcame A 'Fart-In' To Become The Democratic Nominee
Last night was a night of historic firsts as Hillary Clinton took to the stage to accept the Democratic nomination, but that didn't mean the grumpy Bernie bros were willing to take this sitting down. No, instead they scarfed down fistfuls of beans in order to gas up the DNC arena. Yes, really.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 12:28:23 +0000
States Of Fear: Americans' Deepest Anxieties
When photographer Mike Belleme set out to capture a portrait of America in 2016, he found a nation teetering on a precipice of change and riddled with insecurity. But unlike the hard lines of black-and-white campaigns, fear in the heart is a nuanced spectrum.
Peter Campbell mail: peter.campbell@thedarkswans.com | web: peter.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:29:58 +0000
The Abandoned Ruins Of Hitler's Olympic Village
Little known to most tourists and even Germans, on the edge of Berlin lie the chilling abandoned remains of “Hitler’s Olympic village,” built for the so-called Nazi Games of 1936.
Jacob Warren mail: jacob.warren@klarkzon.eu | web: jacob.klarkzon.eu | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 13:29:58 +0000
Trump Seeks More Foreign Guest Workers For His Companies
The presidential candidate is seeking to bring in 78 more servers, housekeepers, and cooks for his Mar-a-Lago resort and nearby golf course. The controversial guest worker program allows employers to import foreign workers, but only when there are no Americans who want the jobs.
Gregory Mitchell mail: gregory.mitchell@affablyhomonym.com | web: gregory.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 11:32:13 +0000
What That Election Probability Means
As of this writing, the Upshot estimates a 68% probability for Clinton and 32% for Donald Trump. FiveThirtyEight estimates 52% and 48% for Clinton and Trump. What do those numbers mean, really?
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 12:28:23 +0000
The Best Fictional Basketball Shots Ever
From "Space Jam" to "Prometheus," rating the greatest movie and TV buckets.
Lawrence Reynolds mail: lawrence.reynolds@ventredi.eu | web: lawrence.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 21:34:51 +0000
Watch This Livestream Of A Corpse Flower Blooming
Corpse flowers are big, beautiful smelly creations that only bloom once every decade or so. Over the next 24-36 hours, the flower will slowly open, emitting a foul odor that, as its namesake suggests, smells like rotting bodies.
Philip Gibson mail: philip.gibson@innovation-km.com | web: philip.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 11:32:13 +0000
The Guys Who Cracked 'Pokémon Go' Wide Open
Dronpes and Moots7 are both tall, stubbly white guys in their late 20s — the right age to have fond memories of the first generation Pokémon games. Six months ago they embarked on creating The Silph Road, a project that has become the "Pokémon Go" player’s bible.
Jacob Crawford mail: jacob.crawford@hockeymail.de | web: jacob.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 12:28:23 +0000
Uber Has Yet To Reduce Drunk Driving Deaths, Study Says
Uber has tried to position itself as everyone’s favorite designated driver — like a superhero that fights drunk driving. But it looks like the ridesharing service and its competitors are not actually having much of an effect.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Fri, 29 Jul 2016 11:32:13 +0000
Tesla Employees Say They Were Nervous About Autopilot Before Fatality
Even before Tesla reported the first known death of a driver using its autopilot feature, some employees worried the car company wasn't taking every possible precaution.
Jerry Turner mail: jerry.turner@daftest.website | web: jerry.daftest.website | when: Thu, 28 Jul 2016 23:30:51 +0000
The Mom Who Moderates Her Daughter’s Rowdy Twitch Chat
Anisa Jomha was a so-called “boobie streamer” until last March. Her sizable Twitch following includes ardent fans, horny dudes, toxic trolls, and an unusual chat moderator: her mother.
more